MJB

By MJB

Julia Wheeler Tiffany memorial window

Took the 4 (in a car jammed with Yankees fans) to Fordham Road, Bronx, and made my way north on Jerome Avenue to the magnificent St. James Episcopal for a rendezvous with Rector Tobias Haller to get a better photo of the Julia Wheeler Tiffany memorial window. Stood with my feet on the backrests of two pews to get this shot (with Rev. Haller behind me ready to administer last rites in case I toppled), but what I really needed was a scaffold and tripod. Which means I have to go back. Had a fascinating and wide-ranging chat with Rev. Haller, from the Wall Street types who built the church in the mid-19th century (Leonard Jerome was Winston Churchill's grandfather) to the current congregants, mostly from the West Indies and the Ivory Coast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.