neoreoscar

By neoreoscar

Storm damage

I was really touched to discover that the neighbours call this 'Linley's tree'.

All because after a bad storm years ago, it was uprooted and fell to its death. Or so we thought anyway.

I dug a bigger hole for it and re-planted it with some supports and hoped for the best. When buds appeared in the spring I knew it had made it. We were all so pleased - it's a beautiful (Whitebeam) tree.

Another, much more ferocious bout of windy weather forced it to its knees once more. Bolstered by my previous success, I resolutely replanted it again. More supports, sturdier this time. I needed help raising it up from the ground since it had grown so heavy and strong.

In the spring it brought tears to my eyes when it budded so beautifully, laden with silvery green leaflets. It felt like my tree.

Another storm has come since, and still it stands.

A new, terrible storm has descended and now it's my sister who needs support, sturdier and stronger than anything she's had before. Much more than I've ever had to give before. I don't know if I'm up to this task. Trees are so much easier to fix.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.