litl hikes

By litl

on top of ...

Wansfell.

482 metres, that's half the height of Scafell. It's the closest hill to home - I can see the top from my kitchen window and has the advantage (with Loughrigg and Red Screes) that I don't need to use the car.

After a trip to Asda in Kendal, some painting in the bathroom and an early lunch I decided (having sat at the computer most of yesterday) to have a longer walk than usual. I can either go straight up and back down, do it clockwise (steep up) or anticlockwise (steep down). Decided that the latter would be easier on my knees.

Calculated it at 6 miles. Not bad for an afternoon stroll! Saw a kestrel hovering near the summit, lambs and 2 fell ponies. Lots of walkers too including 2 lads who were going up barefoot!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.