Ever decreasing circles

By Shelleylou71

16th April 2014

I promised the girls we would go out today and get them new school shoes (their ones were practically worn through) and I was picking up Dad's new altered slippers from the hospital too. The day started great, nice lazy start and off out by 10 o'clock. Got to the hospital, picked up the slippers and promptly got a call from Dad's buyer asking about getting the contracts exchanged today. I had already told him we would get it sorted in the afternoon, but he was badgering me to get it arranged this morning. I told him no. He knew I was going out with my family. Then we got to Lakeside and the solicitors called to say Dad needed to sign the Land Registry agreement again as the last one was for the previous buyer. An hour later, whilst the girls were being measured for new shoes, the estate agent called to say the buyer wants a certificate for the boiler and we need to get one asap. They knew months ago that we didn't have one, which is why Dad paid for an indemnity policy on the property. So another two phone calls later and the estate agent had arranged for a plumber to sort one for Tuesday. So we popped in to the in-laws (who are round the corner from Dad) printed the paperwork, popped in to see Dad to get it signed and for him to talk to the solicitor to accept the final date of the 25th, went back to get the kids and found the witness signature was in the wrong place, print off again, back to Dad to resign and finally home. Then I get an e-mail from the solicitors to say the contracts have been exchanged and then the texts from the buyer started! He now wants a key earlier than planned so he can decorate before he moves in next Friday. I really felt like telling him to sod off and wait until next week, but he's actually offering to help take Dad's stuff to either the tip or the charity shop. And if it means I don't have to go to that house ever again, it would be a bonus! I hate Canvey Island.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.