DevonDumpling

By DevonDumpling

'Granny's Bonnet'

Aquilegia vulgaris...the Columbine. There are several meanings but the main one is 'eagle'......part of the flower spear is similar in shape to an eagle's claw.

This wonderful flower spreads itself around my garden, I had a blitz last Autumn and gave the garden a good dig....but once again here they are!

There is so much history in the origins of this flower. Too much to write in my blip. It seems that the Columbine has been part of our lives for many centuries and has featured in several paintings. ie Death of the Virgin by Hans Multscher, Adoration of the shepherds by Hugo van de Goes and Albertina by Durer. Further evidence of the bloom is found in the 15th and 16th century church carvings in several British cathedrals.

Its one of my favourite cottage garden plants and I wouldn't be without it. I had a problem photographing this afternoon, as the wind kept moving it around, so not perfect focus.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.