LorsDors

By LorsDors

Glenfinnan Sleeping Car

Ahhhh, a sleeping car that doesn't involve actual sleeping :(

Before the moaning begins I will point out the good things about this little trip: the view from the carriage over loch Sheil; the view along the railway line to Ben Nevis; the viaduct; sunset at the Glenfinnan Monument & dinner at Glenfinnan House (v tasty).

It should have been an adventure... The kids loved it. I didn't.

It was: a) Baltic. Seriously cold. All four of us at one point in same tiny bed, two duvets, four blankets, girls rejecting fought for bunk beds in favour of leeching body heat; b) uncomfortable. Ok - I do have a chronic back problem so probably should have thought the whole bunkhouse thing through... But it sucked; and c) it was grubby. I hate grubby. It needed a good clean.

So, an adventure I won't care to repeat. Next time, we're booking into Glenfinnan House. Looked lovely & had *massive* fires.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.