Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Picking Gooseberries

Yesterday I bought some cheap strawberries and they tasted even cheaper. Rather than waste them I decided to make strawberry and gooseberry jam. With another nor'west gale I was glad the bush is in the lee of a hedge. A few redcurrants brightens the colour of the jam.

The jam turned out all right, I guess. There is a hint of both strawberry and gooseberry flavours, but as I don't eat much sugar these days it tastes overwhelmingly sweet to me.

I used to make large quantities of jam and jellies- around 80 pounds a season. At least half of this would be our favourite raspberry jam. I would pick the raspberries at a local berry farm, dragging other members of the family along to help whenever I could. Several trips were needed because I made the jam in batches. I enjoyed the picking, early mornings in the fresh air, but making the jam was hot work. To complicate the operation Christmas falls right in the middle of the jamming season. Jam-making had to be fitted into the usual rush of preparation and aftermath.

Ah, the good old days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.