SilverImages

By SilverImages

Play [it again Sam]

Today we arrive in Casablanca.

After our experience in Lisbon I've booked us on a city tour, to get us around some of he highlights of the sprawling city. I was clapped out after all the walking we did in Lisbon so sitting back and letting the world go by, at least for a while, was the preferred option.

Not surprisingly our tour bus was late, so I made the most of the extra time to get a few photos around the docks. Our apologetic guide arrived and soon we were whisked away into the heart of the city, relatively quiet as there was a school holiday today.

First stop was Mohammed V square, surrounded by some beautiful buildings, bit of a warm up for the main event [for me anyway], and I was approached by a water seller. Our tour guide had explained the water sellers used to make their living, well, selling water to the visitors. Now they pose for photos in exchange for cash - one euro per photo we were told. Seemed like a good idea so I agreed. Rummaging through my pockets I found a pound coin and thought that may be the same for him. No chance, he wanted euros. Tried again and came up with 50 cents, same response. Third time lucky and I found a euro - he was all smiles!

Next stop the Hassan II Mosque. The highlight for me, stunningly beautiful piece of architecture. As usual I spent my time grabbing what photos I could while K listened to the guide and kept a watchful eye on me to make sure I didn't get separated from the group for too long. Can't recommend it too highly photographically.

The rest of the tour visited other interesting city highlights, including the obligatory trip to the souq for a bit of haggling, but I was hooked on the mosque. After the tour ended we scrambled back on board ship for a late lunch [about 3pm] and once K was settled on board, basking in the sun, I headed off to find a taxi to take me back to the mosque. K wasn't at all impressed, convinced I'd miss the ship leaving port or kidnapped by some wild Moroccan taxi driver - well, the guy in the bazaar had offered 300 camels for me!

Mindful of the need to get back in time for the ship sailing, I did manage to get a taxi back to the mosque to spent some real photography time there. I was even asked by a few people to take their photos [on their cameras] so spent some time lying around on the floor getting their photos with the mosque as backdrop. Taxi driver was good as gold and after dropping me off, waited for about an hour for me to get my photos, then took me a bit further up the coast to get a view of the mosque with the Atlantic in the foreground [you'll have to visit my website to see other photos from today].

A glorious days photography and yes, I did get back to the ship in time for departure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.