Arkensiel Photography

By arkensielphoto

Newport - Comparison with 1911

I went into the village this morning and as usual took my camera. The trip took longer than normal; my neighbour was driving home so she stopped for a chat. I have now seen her two days running, but then I cannot remember the last time I saw her! Then I met a man with his dog and stopped for a chat about photography. I mentioned Blip, but did not have any Blipcards with me, but I explained how it worked and pointed him in the direction of the article that Newport News did about me last December; he was going home to have a look.

Then, as there were no cars parked along my ‘one street’, I decided to do a detour on the way home and walked to the top of the field to take today’s picture. This shows slightly more detail on the left-hand side than the original painting, the trees have grown, obviously, but the railway bridge is still visible. The other interesting comparison is where the painting shows sheep grazing, we now have some very well kept allotments. The Church tower can be seen behind the trees; another addition to the current picture is the pylons and an Oil Seed Rape crop showing yellow in the distance.

I have a lot more old postcards and four small postcard size paintings in my collection and I think, sometime in the future, I will blip some of them and then do a current picture for comparison.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.