Appreciation

By Appreciation

Porty Beach

My girl and I took a beach stroll today to shake off the ringing in our ears from last night's McBusted concert (it was a melange of madness!).

Portobello beach is the beach of my youth. My mother would take my sister and I in the pram from Leith and walk, with the picnic stowed in the basket below the pram, there and back. I remember those gritty sandwiches and the green tartan thermos flask. I remember the fluted tutu on my checked bathing suit. I remember the indecency of having to be towel dried in front of what seemed like millions of people, and I remember the laughter and fun we had.

My girl was horrified that I was taking pictures of people on the beach, 'invading their privacy' she said. I choose to look on it as a moment of social history with each shot having it's own story.

Beach volleyball in Scotland, that not something you see everyday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.