Inverculain

By Inverculain

(My only) good egg

So for once I had it all planned out...

Thanks to Victoria looking after Ruthie and her friends for the last couple of weeks, we have a LOT of eggs. I decided I would dye them to make a multicoloured Easter blip.

I went out yesterday and got food dyes, and decided to start off with some nice bright red ones. I boiled them for 10 minutes with plenty dye, and I have to say the water looked the most gorgeous, deep shade of red.

They came out a pale, vaguely bluish grey.

So I looked up the basics of egg dyeing. For my second attempt, I boiled the eggs first, cooled them to room temperature, then put them in a jar with a mixture of hot water and vinegar and plenty red food colouring.

This time, there might just have been a very slight pinkish tint to the grey, but hardly so you'd notice.

By this time I could see my brightly-coloured blip receding into the distance, but I had one more go with yellow dye. Two of the eggs ended up a very pale, insipid shade, but the third came out a rich, golden yellow.

I decided to quit while I was ahead (well - only a few grey eggs and unused bottles of green, blue and pink food dye behind!). And this morning I posed my single coloured egg on a placemat made of steel wire and took this.

Happy Easter everyone! I hope you all have a great day :))

(I tried a few alternative shots with my lone egg - you can see them here.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.