Suespiria

By Suespiria

Well, I started out....

Down a dirty road.
Started out all alone,
And the sun went down, as I crossed the hill,
And the town lit up,
But the world got still.

I'm learning to fly,
But I ain't got wings. (With thanks to Tom Petty)

This guy does though. After an hour in the garden, with a 300mm macro lens, and manual focus, because the camera wouldn't find anything this small when it was still moving, I finally got a half-way decent shot of one of these. There were loads of them flying around the garden.

Never going to win 'nature photographer of the year' with this shot, but it's wild, not in a tank, and I'm fairly proud of making the shot at all. This is the first time I've ever wished I had more resolution though. A D800 has nearly 40MP. That means I could crop to the level I've had to, and still have a printable shot.... On the other hand, this was shot number 7 of an 11 shot sequence. Can you do that many shots quickly on something with that large an image size?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.