Theatre of Death

This sad demise of a bee, played itself out in front of me.

I heard the bumble bee buzzing in the conservatory and though, Mmm a possible blip.

It stopped and so I went to look.

It was caught in a web, high up and with the speed of summer lightning, the spider emerged from a dark corner and attacked the bee.

I ran for the camera, slammed on a macro lens, rushed back, realised I was too far away, rushed out for a chair to stand on.

One foot on the chair and another on a narrow window shelf.
Click, adjust exposure, click, change ISO, click, stop chair from sliding away, click, change aperture, click, stop foot from slipping on chair, click, check image, click, see spider dragging the bee away, click, adjust chair to get closer, click.

Spider and prey gone

Breathe.

Yesterday kneeling in the wet grass, today tip toeing on a chair.

The things we do for blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.