TynvdBrandhof

By TynvdB

The Cheerios of the Terns

Its late in the evening as I start writing this short journal. It was not easy to decide to leave the stunning sunset photo and to choose for the flying terns you see above. There is an atmosphere of cheerful speediness in the terns flighing and agile manoeuvring. I have fallen in love with their high pitched cheerios in their fishing song. I still owe these wonderful seabirds a special poem.

Sunset is breathtaking. Especially when you pass the evening, just sitting or laying in the sand, Looking around, smelling and hearing, as I did tonight. Accidentally as the sun was sinking, the tide was rising, which gives a special acoustic touch. Like the sound of an overflowing bath tub, a gigantic one…I was leaning on my backpack and tried to continue breathing while holding my Lumix with trembling hands. When I returned, I was chilled but felt very relieved and happy.

The terns were gathering at the surf this afternoon. I was just on my way back home as I heard their cheerio. So to meet them was another surprise after I had taken my first sea bath of this year. The weather was so bright and the almost flat calmness of the blue water so inviting that I couldn’t resist and took that short submersion. It even did not feel cold, seawater temperature being around 10 C. That’s real enjoyable freedom, very refreshing and healthy to let you sing: Cheerio!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.