Doesn't Apply In The Tropics

Within 15 seconds of our first hike at San Gerardo, Colin found himself a snake. A tropical King snake to be precise. We hiked down the Tabacón trail after breakfast. Saw a lot of things that I didn’t see at Pocosol. My favorite thing of the hike was something called a spittle bug. It looked like there was a lot of foamy drool on the tree so Dr. Shepherd stuck his hand in and found an aptly named, spittle bug. We saw another snake further on down the trail, this one was poisonous. A lot of new birds and butterflies were also seen.

Our afternoon hike was along the Congo Trail and once again I have pages of notes of our discoveries. Can’t go anywhere without Shepherd having something amazing to say about something we see. Even during the car rides I had to keep my notebook out. I swung from a vine in the jungle and felt like Tarzan.

I originally thought it was terrifying that all the boys were bringing machete’s and knives on this trip. Turns out it was the most useful item of all. We cut open seeds, plants, and chopped through the jungle. Here’s Dan carving us a path.

Went on another night hike in search of glass frogs. Couldn't find any because it hadn't rained beforehand. That was a disappointment.

Quote
"If you don't take risks, you'll have a wasted soul."
-Drew Barrymore

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.