Random musings.

By rannochgirl

On the road to Blantyre

We have arrived safely after a wearisome but relatively smooth journey. Glad to have stopped moving!
This shot was captured from a moving car on the road from Chileka airport into the city of Blantyre. This road passes by a series of settlements/ townships which really encapsulate Malawian life and I wanted to try and capture a little of that. It's difficult, however, because it would not really be appropriate to stop the taxi and jump out and take pictures so I was quietly taking pictures with my iPhone as the taxi moved along. When I return here I'm always struck by the huge numbers of people walking everywhere. The car has not yet taken over here! I also love the names people give to their small businesses and will try to capture some of that in future blips. This shot shows a guy walking along the road, and you can just see the leg of someone coming behind him. I love the name of the take-away store in the background.
I'm also tickled by 'Upendo' as the name of the car repair shop. Are the cars upended in order to be repaired?! :-).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.