Trabroun

By trabroun

Through a murky snowy window

Met up with some old work colleagues at the Queensferry Hotel in Fife for Christmas Lunch. The chat was great with plenty of laughs and catch ups and present swapping. We opted for the healthy version, scan the dessert options and work your way back through the menu!
The main course was mediocre but we had to send both the desserts and coffees back! It's usually the main course but never knowingly a dessert - suffice to the torte resembled a camel pat on a plate in which the fork stood upright as it was absolutely solid and refused to budge. As it would be too expensive to replace a colleagues veneers the decision was made to swap 4 Camel Pat pies to theslop food version of Crème Brule

The aroma of cremated coffee beans should have been an alarm for what was ahead when the coffee arrived. It was poured out of the coffee pot with a plop! If I had been in Turkey or Tunisia I would have understood, but hey I was in North Queensferry - that's Nescafe land. So even the coffee got sent back. The fear of a grumpy chef spitting in my coffee concerned me enough to stand beside the coffee machine for a fresh brew to be made - "Coffee pot madam?" "No thanks, just two cups of coffee thanks - and I'll carry them over too" Nae chance of any spittle in my cuppa.

The view from the hotel was lovely, we watched as the snow sweep up the Forth River across to West Lothian. My chauffeuse was getting agitated
"I don't like driving in the dark", "I don't like driving in the snow", "I don't like driving on the motorway" Well hey you're in for one helluva journey as you are about to do all three at peak traffic time! Which she did admirably with alot of muttering and gnashing of teeth.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.