Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

David

Leaving the local grocery store this evening I met David. He was riding his bicycle around looking for recyclable cans to return for the deposit. David is 57 years old and lives in a tent that he pitches on an undisclosed patch of land at the edge of town. Although he looked quite skeptical when we first started talking, he quickly warmed up to my presence and told me that he's just not used to people talking to him. I had taken him a bit by surprise because I said hello. David said he hasn't always been homeless and has lived in this town his entire life. "I still have family in the area," he said, quickly adding that things hadn't worked out for him and he'd been homeless for a while. "I'm getting tired of the rain," he told me. We shook hands and David told me that I had made his day by stopping to talk. Wow. David, you made my day, too. Thank you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.