Random musings.

By rannochgirl

Heading for the bus!

Believe it or not the apparent waste ground in the background of this picture is the main bus station for Blantyre! At certain times of day it is crammed full of vehicles - some coaches (like the ones in the picture) but also masses of minibuses ( called combies). I always marvel at the chaotic nature of this area and wonder how on earth people manage to find the correct bus amidst the clamour and mayhem. It was reasonably quiet when we passed today but I loved the image of the guy carrying his load on his head. You see that a lot here- they carry everything from water to farm produce on their head, especially the women.
I took this picture from a moving vehicle - I should explain that it is not considered very safe for people to go walkabout in Blantyre because of the dangerous of being mugged so we are taxied from our accommodation to where we are working and don't spend any time walking the streets. I am, therefore snatching these shots from the back seat of the taxi.

I liked this shot because it really represents how people carry their belongings. I also loved the discarded flip flop in the dust. I hadn't noticed it when I took the picture. You can see a couple of coaches in the background. Also, check out the tyre seller. You will find many people trying to sell used tyres like this. Often the tyres are nearly or completely bald and certainly wouldn't get through an MOT in the UK!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.