Wine,Women & Song

By CelloNerd

A Visit to Olsen Violins

I decided it was time to bring my cello in for a tuneup, her first. So off we went to Olsen Violins in Seattle, the store where I purchased my Jay Haide cello about five years ago.

Since the last time I was there, Sten Olsen (above, with my cello in its green case) and his wife Nete have expanded their Ballard neighborhood shop with a beautiful, light-filled room where one can select a cello to try out.

I left my cello in his capable hands after explaining the few minor issues I was interested in fixing. When I returned, he had repaired a very small crack in the seam, replaced and adjusted the sound post, checked over my awesome Perfection Pegs, and checked the bridge. I'm still not entirely happy with one of the new strings I recently purchased, but other than that, she's good as new and ready to make more music. Sten said he could tell she has been cared for very well. (and he's right!) If anyone reading this is shopping for a violin, viola or cello, Olsen Violins with their outstanding customer service, and beautiful shop, is the place to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.