Rosemarie55

By Rosemarie55

The Little Mermaid

Beastly foggy day outside and so the day for an indoor macro! This image of The Little Mermaid I bought from Cancer Research Charity shop a couple of weeks ago for 75p. I have always wanted to visit Copenhagen but haven't managed that yet - maybe soon.

The Little Mermaid was created by Danish sculptor Edvard Eriksen in tribute to Danish storyteller Hans Christian Andersen. The statue of The Little Mermaid from Hans Christian Andersen’s fairy tale, sits on a rock at Langelinie in the harbor of Copenhagen wistfully pining for the prince she has been promised. Unveiled on 23rd August 1913, The Little Mermaid was a gift from Danish brewer Carl Jacobsen to the City of Copenhagen. Actually the statue of The Little Mermaid was sculpted as a twin-tailed mermaid, whereas the fairy tale by Hand Christian Andersen describes the mermaid as having a single tail – a fish tail.

I think the little souvenier I bought has a fishes tail - I'm not sure.

Hope you are all having better weather than I am:-) I am about to start painting my living room walls - brilliant white! Have a good weekend nevertheless!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.