Trisha's World

By TrishaM

Where The Wild Gulls Fly

O lift me high upon the wind,
To where the wild gulls fly -
Above the mighty ocean’s swell,
Across the sapphire sky.

My refuge be the sailing ships
Which brave the raging seas,
And isles adorned with swaying Palms,
My heart to thus appease.

Then circling high above the storms
Of life’s beleaguered trail -
O carry me to distant shores,
To fly o’er hill and vale.

The wild gulls cry, the sweetest sound,
Is calling, calling me -
And I shall follow where they lead,
To where I shall be free.

O lift me high upon the wind,
To where the wild gulls fly -
Beyond all things that serve to bind,
Above the earth, so high.

And higher still to realms unknown
To mortal man below -
Behold the sun, behold the moon,
And dawn’s soft afterglow.

May air as sweet as angels’ breath
Caress me as I soar -
To feel nirvana’s soft embrace,
Enfold me evermore.

by Valerie Dohren

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.