Moving Into The Unknown

By dvdlodi

Clay

Today I met Clay as he was sitting in his wheelchair outside a local grocery. Clay was eager to share some of his story with me. He worked in the solar industry before a series of unfortunate events changed things in his world. Most noticeably, he became a double amputee about 7 years ago - the result of an accident on the train tracks in Memphis. Clay truly wanted to show me his legs in an effort to help me better understand the extent of his injury. He also wanted me to take photos (and asked if I would give him one of the photos - which I will gladly do).

Clay is also an artist. He showed me a piece of folk art he is currently fashioning from wood and polished stone. He hopes to sell some of his art in a local shop. Despite his injury, Clay seemed like an industrious man. He had a certain wistful look about him and shared his deep hope for a bright future. We talked for nearly 20 minutes and I learned a great deal from this friendly man. Thanks Clay.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.