CarmenC

By CarmenC

Film like?

I was a bit stuck for a blip yesterday. I intended to take some video of my dance class again and perhaps sneak a few stills in while the video was recording so I'd have a blip, however my dance teacher insisted on recording the video and of course didn't take any stills at the same time... so I got home at after 10pm with nothing to blip.

So I snapped these little pegs still hanging on the stair rail since christmas! They'll probably stay there now.

Obviously I missed the focus a bit but what I do like about this shot is the grain. It's shot at ISO2800 and I haven't used any luminance noise reduction and only about 25 on the colour noise reduction (in Lightroom). The luminance noise from the Nikon 1 sensor I think is quite pleasant and looks like a highish ISO film grain and it still resolves a fair amount of detail without too aggressive NR. For this shot, though it's a poor shot I think it gives a little character. Of course I like noiseless high ISO (I used to have a D700) but sometimes pictures can be a little too perfect :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.