Life In Wales

By KarenC

The Village Pond, Carshalton

I was determined not to blip another animal today, it was difficult though as I walked into the park and I'm not joking, my friendly squirrel came running towards me! I went and sat on a bench and it came with me as did it's friend, so I started feeding them and the courageous one jumped up on the bench with me, while the more timid one kept climbing up my legs lol!

People passing kept stopping to watch as he kept coming and taking the nuts out of my hand and then sat next to me while he ate it, before coming back for more. One lady asked if it was a daily ritual - it will be for the rest of this week, but they'll have to find someone else after that.

I've been wanting to blip the village pond to show you how pretty it is here. Unfortunately the sun was in the wrong direction so I was facing into it, and also I had to wait for ages to take it without any traffic passing. It's a really busy road with not only cars, but buses and trucks. I think I was there for about 20 minutes before I managed to get this one!

Work is going well. I'm feeling tired as I've still got so much to learn, and I'm writing notes on everything, but I'm enjoying it and have no regrets about leaving the other place. At least when I get to the Brighton office next week, the secretary that I'm replacing will still be there until the end of May, so my training will continue 'on the job'. And the secretaries here in Carshalton have said I can phone them if I have any problems.

Anyway, I'm going to go out and get something to eat now - there's a food court within walking distance of the hotel. I ate there on Monday night and had a Chinese which was very good, so tonight I'm going to try the Indian. I've got some wine that I chilled in the fridge at work, so I'll come back and watch the TV in my room and have an early night.

I hope you're having a good week, I'll catch up with you after I've eaten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.