Unknown Foal

I'll lend you for a little while my grandest foal, he said.
for you to love while he's alive and mourn when he is dead.
It may be one or twenty years, or days or months, you see,
but will you, till I take him back, take care of him for me?
He'll bring his charms to gladden you, and should his stay be brief,
you'll have treasured memories as solace for your grief.
I cannot promise he will stay, since all from earth return,
but there are lessons taught on earth I want this foal to learn.
I've looked the wide world over In my search for teachers true.
And from the throngs that crowd life's lanes, with trust, I've chosen you.
Now will you give him total love, not think the labor vain,
nor hate me when I come here to take him back again?
I know you'll give him tenderness and love will bloom each day,
and for the happiness you've known, forever grateful stay.
But should I come and call for him much sooner than you'd planned,
you'll brave the bitter grief that comes, and someday, understand.

Author unknown

A rather deep poem for Bealtine - the official first day of summer over here and one of the ancient Celtic festivals. Such a new little foal - just look at the length of his skinny legs.
The face has been washed in the dew ensuring another year of loveliness; the tooth is feeling a bit better helped on by some Laphroaig whisky kindly given to me by GOD when she visited last year; coffee has been taken with a friend, a visit to the mobile Breatscheck unit undertaken (ouch), tomatoes planted out and now TJ is shortly arriving for a card meeting a supper. All go.
And thank you for all the snail interest - he's disappeared today.


Foals

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.