My Life With Luna

By chrisA

The New Arrivals

I am over the moon that the Great Tits chose to nest in the box on the Walnut tree, especially as the babies have hatched and this is either mum or dad bringing food to them. The poor parents must be exhausted with all that toing and froing all day. This is not the best photograph, but it shows one of the parents flying to the nest box with a beak full of juicy insects for the babies.
Interestingly I noticed that the parents sometimes went to the sunflower hearts and fed before flying off to find insects for the babies. I wonder whether they would, as we are led to believe, try to feed the little ones with nuts and seeds or if they realise they would choke on them! I think we should give them more credit to their intelligence.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.