Somerset Hills Grand Fondo

Today was the day, my longest bike ride ever!

The Somerset Hills Grand Fondo, I took on and concord the 44miles Piccolo route, the first 8km is up through Cheddar Gorge and on to the mendip hills. I made the mistake of driving down the gorge on the way to the start, big mistake, scared me silly it's a long climb and very steep in one part.

Turns out it wasn't as bad as I thought, although I did miss a direction arrow and ended up doing an extra 3miles to get back on the route.

A little toilet and food stop just over half way round and I was still feeling good.

In total for me 47miles ridden, 2024ft climbed and according to my Strava app a moving time of 3hrs 30mins and my official time was 4hrs 8mins.

Really enjoyed it although I do ache a bit now!

I remember this time last year saying to C I needed to get up to riding 40km, it's amazing what a bit of perseverance can do! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.