MonoMonday - Selfie

That time of year again when the color of things is very vivid... so vivid that it seems to hurt my eyes at times, burning the images into the memory banks for ever and ever. (and I give you a mono photo today...)

We don't get much Southern rock here in Italy, but one independent radio station has a good daily 5 minute blues program. So as I was driving to work this morning a song by the Allman Brothers came on the radio which I haven't heard for a very long time...

I'm on my way to New Orleans this mornin',
Leaving out of Nashville, Tennessee,
They're always having a good time down on the bayou,
Lord, them Delta women think the world of me.

Lord, I was born a ramblin' man

Incredible how sometimes a certain song at a certain moment can be so very sentimental and overwhelming. I succumbed to the moment and turned the radio up and put the windows down... driving down the A1 East Milan Biway in rush hour traffic; smog, noise and all... I could have been anywhere in the Southern USA on some lost highway with Carolina blue skies overhead and clean fragrant soft air ripping through the windows with pine trees lining the shoulders filtering the light and whap-whap-whap of the cement joints keeping time...

Lord, I was born a ramblin' man!


This week's MonoMonday challenge is hosted by Paladian. I've blipped this piazza several times already, but I love to come back here for the colors, lines, textures and shapes.... The kids are always outside in a school courtyard off to the side, behind a large wall. I can never see them, but I love to hear them scream and yell as they play. I occassionally will toss the stray ball back over the wall, and on days like today, becomes sort of a game. Not good for selfies should the stray ball land on the camera.... :) Life is fun and full of games.

Happy Monday and hoping you enjoy the color of things!

A few more on Flickr.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.