A REAL GUERNSEY CHARACTER

This is Ivor and I saw him today when I went to St Peter Port. I was wandering in The Old Quarter and saw him sitting outside a pub. He had a very interesting face so I stopped to chat with him. He told me he was waiting for the pub to open and came here every day.

I discovered he was a true Guernseyman, having been born here - and that he had celebrated his 80th birthday in March. He said he had been a fisherman all his life and had never been seasick.

What a wonderful character and he was happy for me to take his photograph.

If wrinkles must be written upon our brows,
let them not be written upon the heart.
The spirit should never grow old.
John Kenneth Galbraith


Thank you for all your kind comments about Fudge yesterday - internet access is spasmodic so can't always respond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.