twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

I'm A Leavin' On a Jet Plane

Started slowly; post migraine sloth mixed with late night drinking, kissing - I was awake and working albeit not on full power shortly after 8.

Fairly mundane; plodded quietly through, interspresed with Facebook messages about venue, time etc.

Working back from a 1430 departing train to Glasgow, I showered, dressed and dropped off laptop to her (with a Cigs scout around on the east side of Lothian Road).

And onto a train, out with the book and into the grey drizzly gloom of the west.

Booly Mardy's at 4, met Elena, ten years on, same city, different bar. We had an hour of catching up, was really good to see her. Then Karine arrived with Dave; as my bro pointed out on Facebook - the non conformist cousins gatherin. Which seemed an entirely appropriate team name for the pub quiz (2nd).

Then a cousin of Elena's dragged us back to Elena's aunt's place off Byres Road; we had brilliant dinner of chicken liver pate, venison stew and then a cheese board. Good wine, too. Voignier?

I dragged myself away after 9; oddly felt so at home in my non family; pointedly Maw the next day dissed them, called them disfunctional but I said I loved being around them....

Walked to Queen St, past Stag and Dagger and bike shop Neill and managed to get the 2200 Edinburgh train with about 90 seconds to spare.

Long chat with S on the way home; she was soooo disappointed not to be there, as was I that she couldn't make it. Would have been a perfect introduction to my perfect cousins.

From Edinburgh, I got the offer of a nightcap, so swung by, offered each other solice and comfort and I was home in the wee small hours, drunk, tired, alive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.