PawsClaws n Tails outWest

By DesertP

With the highs, come the lows

When I tell people what I do for a living the usual reaction is 'wow! really?' That's so awesome.... etc.. Something along those lines....

And every day I am so grateful to be doing a job that I love, there are many people that don't have that luxury.

But today was so emotionally draining and I am reminded that of course with the good, comes the bad. Mac, one of our little blue penguins had a CT scan today at Murdoch university. She is very sick and unless we do exploratory surgery tomorrow she isn't going to make it. Even then the surgery is extremely risky, as she is also 16 years of age (geriatric in penguin years). There is a very good chance she won't make it..

Then in the afternoon we repaired a fractured leg on an adult red-tail black cockatoo. She coped well with the surgery, only to die on recovery. Under my watch. Everybody tells you to let it go, that no matter what you do, some will just not make it. I know this is true, but when it happens right before your eyes and you were the one monitoring her recovery there is very little that one can say that will bring any comfort.

Came home and went for a good run to try and clear my head. Tomorrow will be a big day and I'm praying for a good outcome for litle Mac

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.