Homemade Chicken Pot Pie

Unbelievably easy, unbelievably fast, and unbelievably delicious. Shown with the crust broken open to show the filling.

I used to really like the frozen pot pies from the supermarket until they made them microwaveable. Now, the leaden, soggy crust is not so appetizing. This version is strictly my own idea, so let me tell you how I did it. If someone else had the same idea, it is purely coincidental.

To make 4 pies, I used 1 lb. chicken breast cubes, a 1 lb. package of frozen peas and carrots (it won't use the whole package), 1 package of Southeastern Mills Chicken Gravy mix, 1 sheet of frozen puff pastry, and 4 ramekins.

If you can't find Southeastern Mills gravy mixes, you can use any good brand. I just happen to think theirs is the best and it is the only packaged gravy mix I buy. Of course, you could make your own gravy from scratch, too, but this is supposed to be fast and easy.

I sauteed the chicken breast cubes in 1 tablespoon butter, and sprinkled them with salt and pepper and onion powder. I then divided the fully cooked chicken between the four ramekins. I added the frozen peas and carrots until they were just about to the top of the ramekin. Prepare the gravy mix according to the package directions. When it has thickened a bit, ladle over the chicken and vegetables filling to about a fourth inch from the top. I cut the sheet of puff pastry in four squares and laid them on top of the ramekin. I folded the corners under a bit to make it look nice. Put them on a foil lined, rimmed baking sheet, since the filling will boil out a bit. This makes cleanup a breeze. Bake at 375 degrees for 30 to 35 minutes until the tops are golden brown. I used a rigid plastic spatula to lift them off the baking sheet onto small plates.

They were soooo much better than anything I have found in the frozen food section of the supermarket lately. You could very easily substitute turkey, or leftover chicken or turkey and it would be delicious. The peas and carrots will cook in the oven to the perfect doneness, so there is no need to precook or thaw them.

Try it. You'll like it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.