Landscape

From srinigar.

An odd and enchanting day, many talks and much political thought. It's so different to the way it's portrayed in the UK....the idea of kashmir and independence, which doesn't mean a hook up to Pakistan, but an independent state.

There's a high army presence, reminds me of Belfast in the eighties...but worse. I haven't had long enough to think it all through and am loathe to state anything other than anodyne phrases....

What did get me was that not all citizens get the chance to vote, allegedly (learned that from Ian hislop;-)), but heard same from four people, in different parts of town.

But it's another place this, people are friendly and open, no hassles and no one trying to sell me anything. The travellers haven't returned yet, mostly Indian tourism and not overjoyed at this. Why don't the Europeans come is a fairly frequent question. I have no idea is my answer.

And noticed today that somewhere in the chaos of yesterday my copy of yeats disappeared...

But srinigar is fabulous, have found a cheap room near the seriously overcrowded dal lake and will stay a few extra days. The road to Leh is closed due to avalanches, so south is next direction. And, surprisingly, I have no great desire to go trekking yet. Needs more time...

And no decent photos today again, so a landscape. Not a bad emergency possibility :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.