granpabear

By granpabear

PICK YOUR POISON

Another poison thing, The Horse Chestnut. The leaves are as beautiful as the bloom. But the nut is prettier than either. Someone from the East US, told me that the nuts are called Buckeyes there. Big round, very shiny dark brown, with a big round light spot. Everyone says that they are poisonous. So they must be.
These nuts remind me of my brother Ed's spit shined shoes, after he got back from the Korean war. He used Cordovan brown polish. He and brother Larry were drafted at the same time, but since Dad was sick then, the draft board let them go one after the other. Both to Korea.
They let Larry come home a little early for Dad's funeral. Then Ed went.
I got drafted during the Viet Nam war, but used my superior intelligence to avoid actually going to Viet Nam. They put me in Intelligence work instead. Four years of my life, and I found nothing intelligent there.
I am sorry, but the military and war are the stupidest human endeavor!
Now you and the grandkids will know what I think about nuts, and what's nuts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.