Ineffable

By ineffable

New Years Toes

Rita treated me to a pedicure today, the real treat was the time with her, and her invaluable insight and advice on my stage of life. There is also something deeply and powerfully anchoring about a friend you've had for a twenty years.

I feel a little of myself returning. I've felt more inspired toward writing. I felt a little of my old heart rise up today as I had lunch with another lifelong friend and fellow sojourner, Jamie. There is something about his life, heart and journey that always lead me Home.

I am more than richly blessed.

I am leaving my family tomorrow morning on the red eye and my throat immediately feels the lump as I type it. They are so safe, warm, comforting and fun for me. I have grown so used to being here, and if it weren't for desperately missing Justin, Jess, CoCo, and DTB, I am pretty sure I would beg to stay.

***** It's the far left pinky toe that's broken. Note it's awkward position. I set it myself.

Is there an age you're not allowed to do that anymore. Hide in the safe arms of home and love when the world feels too scary? If there is, then I may not be leaving tomorrow, because I don't ever want to be too old to run home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.