Sunday: Laziness

I think that we were all feeling a little lazy today, Max included.

-------------------------------------------------------------------

One thing I did do was read a fair bit which means I have now finished 'Diary of a Soviet Schoolgirl 1932-1937' by Nina Lugovskaya.  I picked it up many years ago in a cheap little edition that was full of mistakes.  It was a good read, and interesting for what it was, but I can't say that it provided me with any insights into the hardships of living in Russia at the time.  The author did make some pretty critical remarks about the government in her diaries which resulted in her spending many years in a labour camp.  The diary stops shortly before she was arrested which is why she is sometimes called the Russian Anne Frank but, for me, that is a bit of an overgeneralisation.

422

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.