Daveyesdave

By Daveyesdave

From my dream to the supermarket shelf ..

I woke up the other morning and the first thing I said to my friend was "Choko". She thought I had once again lost my mind, but I told her of the vegetable called a choko. She thought it was a crazy name and that I was making it up.

I see it actually has many names across the world according to Wikipedia these are some of them Chayote[1] (Sechium edule), also known as christophene or christophine,[1] cho-cho,[1] mirliton[2] or merleton (Creole/Cajun), chuchu (Brazil), Cidra (Antioquia, Caldas, Quindio and Risaralda regions of Colombia), Guatila (Boyacá and Valle del Cauca regions of Colombia), Centinarja (Malta), Pipinola (Hawaii), pear squash, vegetable pear,[1] chouchoute, choko, güisquil (El Salvador),[3] Labu Siam (Indonesia), Ishkus (Darjeeling, India), Pataste (Honduras),Tayota (Dominican Republic), Sayote (Philippines)

Long time ago when I lived on another island with another woman, a neighbour of ours grew lots of these and would bestow them upon us by the bucket load. We made choko soup one night but it wasn't very good. We tried other using it in other recipes but like the relationship itself it probably just lacked that one vital ingredient, imagination.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.