Climbing the walls

When you're learning how to climb walls, the old adage is true ... you've got to crawl before you can walk!


"Dawn breaks and I discover myself
On top of a wall much higher than I imagined
Which is on top of a hill that I didn’t know about.
Peering down over a drop of plummet precipitousness
I reflect that I have been strolling most of the night
On this wall about one foot wide flashing an axe,
Chopping the red bits out of smouldering timbers.
All of which is so like the world on its regular sleepwalk,
So much like the usual ignorant tightrope dance
On a half frayed tightrope over a hidden bearpit,
That I think the power of darkness is our salvation.
If I’d seen where I was I’d have broken my neck."

(Sydney Tremayne - A Night Fire Call)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.