Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

A New Year's Eve Birthday

This is a double holiday for our family . . .

. . . so early this morning we sent a text-message to our daughter wishing her a Happy Birthday. Mr. Fun texted her McCartney's "Birthday Song" and I texted her a clip of a teddy bear that sings Happy Birthday.

Her text response said that they were well on their way to "Mountain High," a ski resort in our local mountains.

Later she texted us a beautiful photo that "looked toward home." With slight wind here today, we could see "forever," and her photo revealed they could too.

Then when our daughter and son-in-law arrived home late this afternoon, our granddaughter, Ashly, texted us a photo of the birthday cake with one piece missing. So we knew the skiers were home.

I returned the text explaining that we'd be arriving at their home shortly after we made a stop in the south of town. Then I learned that our daughter was about to step into the shower to get ready for an evening out to enjoy a delicious dinner of sushi and whatever else might come their way.

So when we arrived, I walked through the hallway to the bathroom to click and hopefully capture something worth blipping. I love this double shot including her in the mirror. She's a skinny minnie and with her hair freshly washed and dried, I think she looks 14 not 41.

She is my daughter and my life forever changed on December 31, 1968 at 6:15 when she was born and the nurses told me I had a daughter.

I wanted a daughter more than breath. Back in those days we didn't know before the birth what the gender of the baby would be. My inlaws had assured me that the "Fun" family didn't make girls. So you can imagine my surprise and delight.

She has been surprising and delighting us ever since. So today we celebrate the end of a year, the end of a decade, a "blue" moon, but most of all here at the "Fun" house we celebrate the wonder and joy of a daughter.

In Southern California it is 10:15 p.m.
and we're counting down to midnight.
Happy New Year everyone. We'll see you in 2010!
Rosie & Mr. Fun, aka Carol

P.S. Yesterday's blip explains more about our daughter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.