Tuesday: Lunch

Another lunch engagement today.  They are all well and good but they do take a fair bit of time out of the office and they are not good for the old waistline, no matter how sensibly you try and choose.......

This was followed later in the afternoon by a meeting where there seemed to be a peculiar obsession with tea........I was asked whether I would like tea or coffee. Tea, I replied.  Then I had to choose which type of tea.  So I settled for green tea.  But then I had to decide whether I wanted green tea with lemon, mint, just plain, camomile or something else which escapes me.  I opted for plain.  But just to make doubly sure I was made to smell at least three different tea bags.  You will be glad to know I stuck to my original choice!

------------------------------------------------------

'The Color Purple', by Alice Walker, which I have just finished reading was as good this time as it was 20 years ago when I first read it.  I had forgotten just how good, having been distracted by the film in the meantime.  I do love the slightly melancholy feeling you get when you are reading a really good book, and the right hand side of the book (unless you are reading Japanese) is getting thinner and thinner until suddenly there is no more.

424

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.