Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Scared Magpie

A choice of pictures between a disturbed and grumpy looking cat, and this scared magpie.

Lunchtime walk and I had to escape the office. I headed up to the Water of Leith behind The Scottish Gallery of Modern Art. As I got near the car park I notice two magpies. One flew off to a safe distance as I passed by, the other just stayed there on the grassy slope.

This magpie didn't look right, the left side feathers were all fluffed up as though it has just gone through some sort of trauma. The magpie looks quite young as well. I didn't approach it, I took this picture from the opposite side of the road, and walked on. You can see the look of terror in its eyes. Not wanting to cause it any more stress, I decided to walk on a little way and then see if it was ok.

I saw a cat a bit further on, and took a couple of pictures of that. I then turned around to see if the magpie was ok. It was happily moving around, so I'm guessing something happened to it and it needed a little time to recover. From the look on the cat, which was enjoying the sunshine, I don't think it was to blame for the magpie's dilemma.

But you never know...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.