0804 to Leeds

By ZMT

“He’s too nervous to sing in front of me”
“Yeah, if there were hundreds of people I could do it, but not just her"
“Why do you think that is?"
“Doesn’t like the intimacy of it I guess."



It was Lily’s coat and matching white shoes which first caught my eye on the street. The pair were very friendly and fun to chat with. They told me they were both musicians, singing and playing the guitar, with somewhat different music tastes (urban soul, jazz) but appreciated each others choices. I asked whether they had ever collaborated together and Lily replied,

“No, that’s never going to happen…apparently. Can you believe it, I’ve known him seven years and he’s too nervous to sing in front of me!"

James was quietly spoken, and explained that it was his nerves which were the reason, but Lily obviously thought it was something else. I joked that he would have to do it someday (knowing women) and he laughed, saying that he was holding back for a reason and was saving it for the proposal. Lily didn’t seem to approve of this ‘cheese’ and I let them play out their little tongue-and-cheek drama before thanking them for the photo opportunity and let them go.



Humans of Leeds

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.