Mikey88

By Mikey88

Spectators

I went down to the local nature reserve this morning. I didn't quite make the dawn, but I was there for about six o'clock. The tide was in and there was a remnant of mist floating just above the water and - unusually - four swans drifting in the middle of the river. I went round the walk, and just as I was approaching the small quay where I had parked the car, I saw a brown animal on the far bank.

Initially, I thought it was a fox, but when I got the telephoto lens on, I saw it was a deer. It proceeded to wade into the water, past the swans, which looked a touch nonplussed, and as it got out of its depth, swam across to the other side of the river.

I'd never seen this happen before and by their attitude, neither had the swans! After the deer had crossed, they swam towards the quay and I got some nice close-ups of them as well.

I hadn't done this walk for several weeks, and since the last time I did it, the estate which owns the land has put up a fence all the way round the inside of the walk as it loops around the river, enclosing the marshland in the middle. It's fine mesh wire netting and about eight feet high. It's probably there for the rearing of pheasants, as it's a shooting estate.

It's a shame, as I've seen fox and deer inside what is now enclosed, and they will have to find somewhere else - assuming they are not trapped inside.

On a different note, the swifts have arrived. I saw my first two wheeling round over the village this afternoon. Summer is very close.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.