Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Simple.

A morning so fine as to charm the very air you breath is not a prerequisite for happiness.....but it helps.

Perched happily down on the river bank at the backs of the colleges, I mused over the conundrums of life. I had awaken early and thought to make the best of the day, so I had time to spare. The ducks in the water seemed a little tetchy but 'hey' I guess I was invading their space. I looked down beside me and a duckling had plonked itself into the dewy grass, not an arms length away! It's fluffy attire covered in little sparkling water droplets it looked somehow magical. I smiled at it and gave it the mornings best, it seemed almost oblivious of my large presence. After what seemed a long time it bobbled onto its feet and dropped somewhat clumsily into the smooth water. Mum and dad quickly herded everyone away and left me with a big grin on my face.

My little companions acceptance of my presence had filled my heart. The cowslip and daisies all nodded their heads in greetings and I carried on sitting. The sun on my face made me close my eyes and just drift off into 'Pete's world' for a while where all manner of wonderful things are possible. These quiet moments keep me sane through my noisy day....all the chit chat....all the futility of peoples over complicated sense-abilities....the back ache....fingers that are sore....all of that hits against the shield of these memories.

Keep things simple.....now that is a prerequisite for happiness!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.