The Taming of the Locks

I'm afraid those shrubs just had to come out. But the roots took some work!

(With thanks to David for the prompt)

Summer arrived today. It was shorts and T-shirt weather at lunchtime and by chance the sunshine coincided with an appointment I had made for my summer haircut. It was time to tame my unruly locks and Claire here is the best such lock tamer I've ever come across. Mind you, in this shot, it does look more like she's extracting something inappropriate rather than cutting my hair! My head feels so full at the moment that it could do with a bit of clearing out. It's as if there is no room for anything else to be put in! I think some pruning would be very useful!

I've never had any enthusiasm for getting my hair cut. It's always been a horrible chore, something to be put off as long as possible, often to the point where there's been a danger of my mop being used by nesting birds. Until now that is. Redheadz, run by Claire, is a whole different experience. The team of girls look after me so well. I feel completely pampered, with a head massage and a back massage thrown in too. It's so relaxing. I emerged a completely new man today!

One of the girls showed me a copy of the local newspaper (here) which had an article about the team, when they opened the doors for a day to raise money for charity. What a lovely bunch of people. And thank you Claire. You certainly know how to handle a pair of scissors.

And thank you also to every one of you for the response to the shots of Ian and Andy. Your generosity blows me away. Aside from this short bit of respite it's been another very tough day. I'm posting just after midnight again and despite hopes for a bit of banter I've run out of energy. There was a time when I would stay up for another hour (or two) but I can't do that right now. I have to sleep. I've made promises to be kinder to myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.