Snippets of my life.

By AmandaO

Local area connection

As mentioned earlier in the week my laptop has died. It was completely expected as it was in very poor condition; I'd just hoped it would last until I'm in a position to buy a new one in the next couple of weeks.

Given that I use my laptop to deliver training, I had had a backup plan - knowing the machine was on it's last legs I'd recently bought a back-up very cheap very old laptop in Cash Converters. Just £30, with a pre-installed Office 2007, but the downside is it's quite bulky, slow and doesn't have the ability to pick up WiFi. But it was just bought as back-up, and the ability to show presentations and videos in training was the priority.

Used it past few days in training, with the expectation that when I get back home I couldn't rrally use it for the internet. Until I'd the sudden realisation that of course I can, using a cable.

It's strange how we almost forget such simple concepts. We're so used to the simpler more advanced methods of using technology.

But it's not all that long ago - just under 10 years - that I remember my flatmate connecting to the internet via our phone line, causing the old situation of not being able to use the phone line while he did so... and of course him paying the highest proportion of the phone bill due to his internet costs.

Just 10 years ago, yet it's like a whole other world now technology-wise...

Who knows what the next 10 year's will bring...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.