Highly Unsprung

By CynicalWench

Edinburgh Beer Goggles

I don't have to rock rose tinted glasses, Edinburgh always smells lovely and basks in sunshine. Love it, love it, love it. I did rock my YES badge front and centre though, like a mad cat lady on heat.

Insane decision to go ahead and have a pocket emptying 24 hour visit - even though Echo and the Bunnymen had cancelled. It was worth it and less than 5 mins after stepping off the train we were sitting in blazing hot sunshine having an alfresco drink on the much changed Cockburn Street. Managed to buy a fifties dress with foxes all over it, which reminded me of Armstrongs, which we didn't have time to check out to see if it was still on the go.

My first ever visit to a vegetarian restaurant (and here's me over 30 years a veggie) saw me grinningly blaspheme with drooling wonder as I read out each menu option, much to the waiter's bemusement. I was way too overwhelmed.....and slightly tipsy. Went to the retro shindig at the Museum, billed as a modern party of vintage proportions, I will whisper quietly that we were a wee bit underwhelmed but we did pitch up a wee bit late and had missed some good stuff. Maybe. We did give it a good go, fuelled by more liquid libation. Interested to see how the BBC film crew try to make it more than it was. Will Gomperts, apologies for spelling, didn't intrigue me at all but the nice lady that presented the BBC's History of Greece was looking like she was having a ball and when Dave accidentally smashed a glass it was like MI6 were walking among us as 3 people materialised from nowhere and to told us to stand firm while they stealthily swooped in to clear it up. I need them to provide that service in my house.

Posh bed sheets for the night. Up by mistake at 5 am and on train home by silly o clock to get back in time for some other shenanigans I'd booked.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.