Those were the days my friend

I have been feeling very nostalgic today. It started with watching Conventboy1 revising in the garden. I did exactly the same back in 1976 - the long hot summer for those of you that can remember that far back.
He was lying on a comfy white plastic lounger with a cushion on - I was lying on one of those awfully uncomfy canvas loungers with springs which always caught some part of your anatomy as you tried to get up!
He had his music playing on his ipod - I had radio 1 on my little transistor radio which wasn't quite loud enough outdoors.
He was struggling to get shade so he could see his computer screen - I didn't have that problem!
He stopped every so often to get a Cornetto out of the freezer - I'm not even sure we had a freezer in those days.

Although the circumstances are different I am sure the underlying panic, dread and fear are exactly the same. And the annoyance of having to work on such a beautiful day! Some things don't change that much.

When I went into the kitchen Jonnie Walker's Sounds of the 70's was playing on Radio 2 and he just seemed to be playing the soundtrack of my teens. Every song had a memory attached to it.

So my blip had to be tweaked a little so that it had a nostalgic feel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.