Steini

By steini

Karl Gabel

A couple of days ago, a friend of mine and me came to the topic of the books we've read and liked in our childhood (which was in the mid-eighties).

One book I especially remember was the first comic book I ever had. Printed in the year of my birth, actually my father bought it and after a couple of years being forgotten it eventually came to my hands around 1986 or so.

It's about an astronaut named Karl Gabel (the guy on the cover page) who starred in no less than four interplanetary space missions, exploring Proxima Centauri, collecting alien creatures and all that stuff. A good part of the drawings was dedicated to (quasi-)technical charts of the spacecrafts, etc. So, you may imaginge that for a small boy, it was kind of a very decent leisure to skim from now and then through the book.

The years passed, I grew older and forgot about it (once a few years ago I looked for it but didn't find it) until that evening named above. I was a little bit sad, that I did not remember what had happened to it, so I scoured the internet for it and finally found it in an online second-hand bookshop. Not to mention that it was faster in my shopping cart than you can say blip.

So now, after at least 17 years since I had the last glance on it, it is (of course a different one) back on my shelf not to be lost again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.